Everything Awesome This Week

thisissand

A jumble of cool stuff I saw this week that you might like to see, too!

SAND ART! There’s a website and an iPhone app (I made the one in this post on the app). I am in love with both.

Jason Collins came out this week. First publicly gay NBA player. I found his article, cowritten by Franz Lidz, very moving and inspiring. I hope his bravery, honesty, and pride in who he truly is will help others have an easier path to self-acceptance.

This Guy is a watermelon ninja. And now I really want watermelon.

Punctuation for the Modern Age. I am so on board with these.

7 Words Brought to You by British Colonialism. I would never have guessed that “swastika” had its roots in Sanskrit.

Why Your Supermarket Only Sells Five Kinds of Apples. I recently read The Seed Underground and it really opened my eyes to the community of seed-savers and the importance of preserving agricultural biodiversity.

You have until July 1 to submit a haiku and have your name included on a DVD sent to Mars. This is as close as I will likely ever get to space travel, so I’m going to have to brush up on my poetry skills.

Love this Pew Research Center report on parents, kids, and libraries.

Wow. The ancient city of Heracleion, sunken for centuries, now rediscovered. Amazing pictures.

Downton Abbey: The Musical!

What Gross Food Stuff Did You Do as a Kid? Oh, these cracked me up. I used to eat spoonfuls of butter (margarine, actually) straight from the tub, and my sister used to make ketchup, mayo & mustard sandwiches. On frozen white bread.

Pull-ups! Science! Strong Women! Hooray!

Great essay about fitness goals, and how you’ll probably be happier when you’re thinking about what your body can do instead of how your body looks.

Grit. The all-important trait.

I ate at Cochon Butcher earlier this year and could not stop eating the bread and butter pickles. Imagine my joy to find the recipe on the restaurant’s blog!

Had a delicious plate of Vegetable Jalfrezi at a local Indian place last week. Might try to replicate it at home, probably with Jamie Oliver’s recipe.

Hello, Blueberry Lemon Greek Yogurt Bread. And may I say you look delicious!

Oh god these stuffed mushrooms look amazing.

Margarita + Pie = YUM

I made this Addictive Brussels Sprouts Salad last night. The name, it is apt.

 

One thought on “Everything Awesome This Week

  1. Pingback: The #1 Trait that Determines Long Term Success ← Staying fit, healthy, and happy in the real world

Leave a Reply

