Everything Awesome This Week

It’s been a couple of busy weeks, but I’m back. Here it is, – a jumble of cool stuff I saw this week that you might like to see, too!

Food every which way at the New Orleans Greek Fest.

Above: Food every which way at the New Orleans Greek Fest. Needless to say, a good time was had by… me, at least.

My one great phobia, justified. Snakes are just the worst, y’all.

Gizoogle. Fo shizzle.

Louisiana ranks top 5 in both politeness and cursing. Might explain my love of the phrase “bitch, please.”

This house. I want to live in it. So lovely!

These clips of on-air personalities catching the giggles are excellent mood-lifters.

Great advice – if you want to learn something for good, understand how it works.

I like a complex, prickly main character as much as the next reader, but I enjoyed Jennifer Weiner’s essay about the bias against likable characters.

Speaking of likable characters, I love how people can’t stop speculating about just what nice-guy Bob Benson on Mad Men is up to. Because nobody on Mad Men is that nice.

I love that this Hitler teakettle made it onto a billboard without anyone at JC Penney seeing the resemblance. And that it sold out within hours of someone pointing out said resemblance.

These PBS ads are just the right combo of silly and stuffy. I’m not saying I would watch The Dillionaire, but I’m not saying I wouldn’t, either.

These false-front buildings are so cool!

Excellent news! It turns out it’s a productivity booster to put already-completed tasks on a to-do list. And here I thought I was just being self-congratulatory.

I saw a presentation at a conference earlier this year about using Disney’s customer-service philosophy in the library environment. I think a commitment to positivity and action can’t help but enhance the experience for any type of client or customer. This article has excellent tips and examples for making your customers happy.

I would love to have one of these gorgeous wreaths.

Telling the Corleone family story, Bluth-style.

I love you, Alamo Drafthouse. Let’s be best friends forever, kay?

Oh my god, y’all. This moose in love with a moose statue is by far the funniest thing I’ve seen all week. Don’t skip the slideshow!

Between clocking hecklers and rocking out with Thomas Dolby, Buzz Aldrin has to be our nation’s bossest astronaut, right?

Now, some good things to eat!

I find these Lemonhead cookies intriguing.

Raspberry goat cheese bars. Gimme.

Grilling season is in full swing. I can think of lots of things to grill up and slather with this balsamic barbecue sauce.

Still, it might be worth heating up the kitchen to bake crawfish cornbread.

I’ve been seeing this one-pan pasta recipe from Martha Stewart Living everywhere, and it looks so good and easy!

I am drooling over the idea of an excellent hot dog with lovely brown mustard on… wait for it… a PRETZEL BUN!!! Revolutionary.

I’m totally bringing this couscous salad to the next potluck I’m invited to.

I want to grill these red wine strip steaks, these chicken burgers and these salmon skewers.

And then I want these brownies and these peanut butter pretzel bars for dessert.

And I want to drink these sangrias and this strawberry mint lemonade.

And then I’ll probably die. Of happiness.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

