Currently

Reading

I just finished  Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter. I enjoyed it, and I really liked the way you got little pieces of the story from the points of view of different characters, each of whom had his or her own distinct voice. I thought it was a little hurried in its resolution, but overall I was glad I  read it, and I’ll be seeking out more of Walter’s books. This one in particular looks enticing, though wholly different from the one I just read.

Next up: Dearie. I’m just a few pages in, but I’m looking forward to the rest!

Watching

I’m loving summer sports right now! The French Open just wrapped up, and Wimbledon is right around the corner. I’ve gotten into the NBA playoffs a bit, and I’m enjoying the finals series between the Heat and the Spurs. But the big deal is that my LSU Tigers are on their way to Omaha for the College World Series! College baseball is pretty special here in Baton Rouge, so having the guys make it to the CWS always makes for an exciting summer. Geaux Tigers!

Listening

I am nothing short of obsessed with this song. Multiple times (in a row, what?) a day, dancing in the kitchen, Pandora station based on it. Obsessed.

Wondering

How to live with my boyfriend and not gain a million pounds. He moved in a few weeks ago and all is bliss, with the exception that, my god, he’s a dude. So he eats like a dude, and brings dude food into the house, and I like to cook dude food (fude?) for him. This is all fine, except I am a lady who can totally eat like a dude, but apparently cannot burn calories like a dude also. Unfair! Typically I do a good job of shopping for and eating healthy food the majority of the time. Let me tell you, though, it is way easier to exercise willpower in a single moment at the grocery store and not buy those cookies than it is to know those cookies are in the pantry and have to exercise the willpower not to eat them every. time. I  remember they are there (and I really never forget about those cookies). So, yeah. I’m gonna have to work on that.

Wearing

This dress. Lots. I got it on sale in teal (or “pollywog,” whatever old navy), and it’s comfy and summery and fun!

Leave a Reply

